UCJC to organise the European University Football Championship 2019

University Camilo José Cela (UCJC) is set to organise the European University Football Championship, which will take place from 19 to 28 July. The presentation ceremony for the tournament took place this morning, in the Music Room of the Palace of Boadilla del Monte.

The European championship will boast second division Spanish referees, who will direct 40 of the 60 matches of the 11 as-side football tournament with the VAR system. In this way, the referees will test out this new system before it is rolled out next season. It will be the first competition that will feature Hawk-Eye technology, recently chosen by the Royal Spanish Football Federation for the coming 19-20 season.

The presentation was attended Carlos Velasco Carballo, president of the Royal Spanish Football Federation Technical Committee of Referees, who explained how the VAR worked. He assured us that this technology was reliable and that it will be used during the European championship and said that “a referee requires at least nine months of practical training to be able to use the VAR system”. He said that once referees had gained experience the International Board certified them.

The event was also chaired by the mayor of Boadilla del Monte, Javier Úbeda; the vice-rector of Teaching and Learning of University Camilo José Cela, Silvia Carrascal; the director of Sports of  SEK Education Group, José Javier Hombrados; and the Director for Sports of UCJC, José Luis Lesma.

This is the first time that this European tournament is organised in Madrid. University Camilo José Cela was selected, in 2017, by EUSA (European University Sports Association) to host the tournament in Spain. The tournament will feature 553 football players, 93 technicians and 20 referees who will represent their countries in twenty 11-aside men’s teams and twelve 7-aside women’s teams.

 “We are proud that our university has been chosen by EUSA to organise this European championship”, said José Luis Lesma, director of Sports at UCJC. Thanks to its commitment to sport, it is the only university in Madrid that has been designated to host two sporting competitions for European universities – it hosted the tennis tournament in 2017 – being the first to host the football competition. “UCJC has 170 athletes who are part of the SEK International Sports Academy programme, who combine academic learning with sports,” he explained.

According to the Vice-Rector of UCJC, “sport stirs emotions and feelings, and makes better people through instilling values. It plays a social role, because it transforms people in their personal and professional development “, said Carrascal in her presentation.

The European University Football Championship includes the collaboration of the Municipality of Boadilla del Monte, where the men’s football competition will be played at the Ángel Nieto Municipal Sports Fields. The women’s championship will take place at the Madrid-Villafranca Campus of UCJC.

“It is an honour for Boadilla to host a championship of this magnitude, which promotes cultural exchange with teams from 16 different countries,” said the mayor of Boadilla del Monte.

In its commitment to women’s football, UCJC will host all 175 of the athletes at its in its halls of residence and all the matches of the 12 teams.

The 12 women’s teams that have reached the European championship are University of Vienna (Austria); University of Montpellier and University Toulouse (France); University of Frankfurt and University of Wurzburg (Germany); Sogn og Fjordane University College (Norway); Siberian Federan University (Russia); University of Basel (Switzerland); Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University (Ukraine); University of Lleida and University Camilo José Cela, representing Spain. The Portuguese team is still awaiting confirmation.

The 20 teams that have qualified for this tournament, in the men’s category, are University of Split (Croatia); University of Jyvaskyla (Finland); University of Orleans (France); Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, University of Bochum and Universität Vechta (Germany); University of Parma (Italy); University of Amsterdam (The Netherlands); Sogn og Fjordane University College (Norway); Maria Curie – Sklodowska University and Warsaw School of Economics (Poland); University of Minho (Portugal); Kuban State University (Russia); University of Basel and University of St.Gallen (Switzerland); Bahcesehir University (Turkey); Ternopil Volodymyr Hnatyuk National Pedagogical University (Ukraine); University of Almería and University Camilo José Cela, representing Spain. The Romanian team is still awaiting confirmation.